function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Judhajit MandalJudhajit Mandal 

Auto populate Picklist Values

Hi,
I am a Salesforce newbie, and I want to auto populate a picklist in which I want the picklist values to come from a pre-created Table. Suggest if that can be done! And how.
Please explain in detail.
Thank You.
Anupam RastogiAnupam Rastogi
Hi Judhajit,

Can you explain the requirement? As I understand, you have a picklist field on some object for which you want to show the picklist values from a table defined in some other object.

AR
Hi Anupam,

It is kindof the way u understood it... I was wondering if at all it can be populated from a table in another object, and the same would reflect any changes made to the table. That is, if we insert or delete records or entries from the table, i want that the picklist values get changed accordingly (Maybe we can include a refresh button or something on the page where the picklist is to be populated)

Thanks!
The kind of field you are talking about is what I call a Dynamic Picklist field. It is based on a dynamically changing list of values (LOVs) that are maintained in another object and are not a static list of values as we usually define while creating a picklist field.

I guess we do not have any direct way to handle this requirement in Salesforce. But if we see it with a different perspective then we do have a solution.

We can create a lookup field that relates to a custom object which can maintain these dynamically changing values. So it works like this - 

1. Suppose on object A you have created this lookup field that relates to object B. Object B is a simple custom object that stores the LOVs and in general is not available to the end user. Only Admins can maintain (add, update or delete) LOVs.