function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Scott PhillipsScott Phillips 

Simple Apex trigger reverse lookup of object

I am new to attempting apex triggers and just starting out.  I need a VERY SIMPLE, BASIC apex and I've spent hours reading through complex examples and not finding anything for what I need.  Here's my case, could anyone help?

2 Objects:  Contact (standard) and Offer (custom).

The Offer object has a lookup field to the Contact which is selected manually by the user.  
I created a custom lookup relationship field on the Contact called "Offer record."

What I want is an apex that when an Offer is created, the apex will lookup that Contact and populate the Offer record onto the field "Offer record."  

Using abbreviated examples:  So I create record OFR-2468 and using the lookup field choose Contact Joe Smith. I click save on the Offer record.  The apex should go to Joe Smith's Contact record and populate his field "Offer record" with the same offer just created, "OFR-2468."  So you could click back and forth between the two and I could write formula fields on the Contact if I need to.  

I am not concerned if there are multiple records created for the same contact or anything special.  I don't need special criteria or conditions.   Just a reverse lookup to populate that object record and if that is successful I can think about getting more complex.

I appreciate any help you could give.  Thanks in advance.

PuneetsfdcPuneetsfdc
There are few questions which need to be answered before approaching for any implementation

1. You have contact lookup field on Offer and lookup field "Offer Record" on contact,
=>so Why you want to create lookup field on Contact when you can access the offer record from related list.

2. What will happen when you will have multiple more that two offers for same Contact,