function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AntjeAntje 

Apex Trigger Not Working :(

Hi Everbody,
I am new to apex, so please be patient. This is my first try at coding. Any help I could get is very much appreciated. I created a custom object (DataTable). This object does not have any parent/child relationships. I am trying to "copy" some information from Tasks into this custom object if the Task is related to an Opportunity. For now, all I want is to populate a field ( called TaskSubject__c) in my custom object that is equal to Subject on the Task/Activity object. Thank You! Here is what I got....

trigger AutoCreateDT on Task (after insert) {
for (Task t : Trigger.new) {
// Check if Task is related to Opportunity
if (t.what =='Opportunity') {
//Populate task subject in custom object called DataTable
DataTable d = new DataTable ();
d.TaskSubject__c = t.subject;

}
}
}
Best Answer chosen by Antje
Blake TanonBlake Tanon
You're not executing any DML operations (creating the new data table), there are some other considerations but they might fall outside of the scope.  See below, this example should work.

trigger AutoCreateDT on Task(after insert){

//create a list to hold the new data table records - so this trigger will work in bulk
    list<Data_Table__c> tables = new list<Data_Table__c>();

for(task t:trigger.new){

if(t.whatId != null && t.Subject != null && t.WhatId.getSobjectType() == 'Opportunity'){
            //add a new data tables to the list
            tables.add(new Data_Table__c(TaskSubject__c = t.subject));

}

}

if(tables.size() > 0){
        //create the new tables
        insert tables;

}

}

All Answers

Blake TanonBlake Tanon