function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Sundeep DangolSundeep Dangol 

adding leads to salesforce

Hi all, I am new to salesforce. We have and external application that identifies and collects leads. We want to push that lead to salesforce. What would be the best way to do that? i reviewed the rest api docs and there is some info on creating new record. Is this equivalent to adding lead in the system? how would we define more fields like address info, phonenumber etc in the json? is there any format or naming convension? And example of adding updating users would be a big help. Thanks!
https://www.salesforce.com/us/developer/docs/api_rest/Content/dome_sobject_create.htm
NagaNaga (Salesforce Developers) 
Hi Sundeep,

You can use the lead import wizard to get in the leads from the external system to salesforce

Here are the requirements and steps for using the Lead Import Wizard ->
https://help.salesforce.com/apex/HTViewHelpDoc?id=lead_import_wizard.htm&language=en

Using the Lead Import Wizard

Prepare your list of names according to the specifications described in Field Mapping for Importing Leads.
Click the Manage Members drop-down button and select Add Members - Import File on the detail page of the campaign you want to update.
Click Import Leads.
Click Browse and choose your import file.
Select a lead source.
Select an assignment rule to assign the leads.
Optionally choose to use assignment rule settings to notify the new record owners.
Select the default member status for leads with blank or invalid statuses.
Select the character encoding of your import file. Most users do not need to change the default setting.
Optionally choose to trigger workflow rules for new and updated records.