function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Lori Antone 1Lori Antone 1 

Workflow or Trigger

Hi,

I'm new to the development side so any help would be appreciated.

I have created a custom object Prospects, whose standard field is Prospect Name. I would like Prospect Name to autopopulate with the Account Name that the custom object is associated with. (Account is a lookup on the custom object). I first tried this with a workflow and it is not updating when I create a new record. My next thought is that this needs to be a trigger, but I do not have enough experience writing these. Is this even possible? Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Pankaj_GanwaniPankaj_Ganwani
Hi Lori,

You can achieve this using workflow rule. Select *Field Update* action in workflow and select Prospect Name from dropdown. In formula field, Use Account__r.Name. I think it will work.
VinojVinoj
Hi Lori,

There isn't a great way to do this as the 'Name' fields is required and you cannot use a formula to set it's value.  You can build a workflow, but you would still have to enter a 'dummy' name to get past the required field validation.  Have a look at this thread - https://developer.salesforce.com/forums/ForumsMain?id=906F00000008oR8IAI
Rahul BorgaonkarRahul Borgaonkar
Hi,

To change Prospect Name with Account name, you have to insert Prospect record first and then update again with Account name again.

Prospect Name should not be Auto Number though.

Regards,

Rahul
The workflow did not work. To me that is the way it should work.

Thanks for the work around Vinoj., I'll give that a shot.
Leslie  KismartoniLeslie Kismartoni
Well, this is hackish, but it may work:
  1. You could use the url parameter "&name=TEMPNAME" which would populate the propect object name until the record saved.
    • You'd need to override the links to that object...