function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Louis SummersLouis Summers 

Trailhead challenge to Create an Apex class

In the introduction to Apex, I was surprised that the challenge was such a leap for an introductory lesson, but I never back away from a challenge.  I have attempted to create the class which requires much more knowledge than is presented.  The method is to be public and static.  But the complier message says that constructors cannot be static.  I see no reason why my method should be interpreted to be a constructor. Can anyone suggest why this is happening.  I'm a Newbie, so it could be a simple correction, but I have done some extensive research before asking for assistance.  Thanks in advance.

Task "Create an Apex class that returns an array (or list) of strings"
bob_buzzardbob_buzzard
The method would be interpreted as a constructor if you didn't specify a return type.  E.g. given an apex class named 'MyClass' with a method 'MyMethod':

public with sharing class MyClass
{
    public static MyMethod(String param1)
    {
        // logic here
    }
}

MyMethod would be interpreted as a constructor as it doesn't have a return type.  If the method is not intended to return a result, it should define the return type 'void':

public with sharing class MyClass
{
    public static void MyMethod(String param1)
    {
        // logic here
    }
}

Louis SummersLouis Summers