function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Zhenyu ZhangZhenyu Zhang 

Salesforce trigger for multi picklists

Hi Masters,

I am new to Salesforce.

At the moment, I am trying to create a trigger.
In the code, there is one picklist in my lead, and then there is another exact same picklist in my task. When ther is log a call or new task coming in. The task's picklist value will be default to same as the lead's picklist value automacally.

However, the trigger that I created is not running. Is there anything wrong with what I did? Or I just made it too complicated?

Here is my trigger,
Trigger PrePopulateTaskPromoCode on Task (before insert) {

List<Lead> leadsToUpdate = new List<Lead>();
    List<Task> tasks = new List<Task>();

for (Task t : trigger.new) {
        if (String.valueOf(t.WhoId).substring(0,3) == '00Q') {
            Lead leadToLookup = [Select promo_code__c FROM Lead WHERE Id = :t.WhoId];
            String promoCode = leadToLookup.Promo_Code__c;
            t.Promo_Code__c = promoCode;
            tasks.add(t);

}
    }
   // update tasks;
}

Best Answer chosen by Zhenyu Zhang
CyberJusCyberJus
In Salesforce there are governor limits that restrict how your code can run. One of those limits sets a maximum number of SOQL statements that can be run in a single transaction. Therefore you never want to execute SOQL within a loop because you never know how many records you may be processing in a trigger. Is is referred to as "bulkifying" your code. 

So for your code you want to loop through the trigger through the trigger items once, get all the ids that may be lead Ids, then run a query that will return a map to the Id, then loop again and pull items out of the map and apply it. 

Set<Id> leadIds = new Set<Id>();
            leadIds.add(t.WhoId);    
        }
    } 

if (!leadIds.isEmpty()) {