function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Tester GirlTester Girl 

Visualforce page with extension to check user access to record otherwise redirect

Hi All
I am new to visualforce development and would like your help.
I have to create a visualforce page with extension for a custom object in a managed package.The custom object is called Attendance and all users have access to its records and when users drill down to the related Student link for a record they don't own,an error is displayed:“Data Not Available: The data you were trying to access could not be found. It may be due to another user deleting the data or a system error. If you know the data is not deleted but cannot access it, please look at our support page.”
So I want to create a page with extension that checks if the user has access to record due to security.If yes then redirect to correct record page,otherwise show error'User doesnt own record so cannot access it'.
Thanks for any help

Best Answer chosen by Tester Girl
Fatima 1Fatima 1
It is happening because standard validation occurs first.
Do one thing, create another custom button, label it as "Edit" and drop this button in place of standard Edit button and remove standard button from layout.
Hope this helps.

All Answers

Hargobind_SinghHargobind_Singh
Hello Tester Girl

You can find out whether a user has access to record using Apex. Here is a related article: 

http://salesforce.stackexchange.com/questions/175/can-i-find-out-if-the-current-user-has-access-to-a-record-without-querying

=========

ps: If your problem/question is resolved/answered, please mark your post as 'Solved' so that the community can benefit with resolution of issues. 
Tester GirlTester Girl
This is my visualforce page

<apex:page standardcontroller="Attendance__c" extensions="checkAcessToRelatedRecords" action="{!redirectToPage}">