function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
NickodemusNickodemus 

Trigger new custom object record upon Contact update

Hi all,

I'm really new to Apex, so totally clueless right now...

I want to create a related list on Contact that stores all previous Accounts that a Contact has been associated with... To solve this I've created a 'junction' object (called 'Associated Account')) as a M-D of Contact with the following fields:
  • Associated Account Name (Auto Number)
  • Contact (M-D)
  • Account (lookup)
  • Start Date (required)
  • End Date
  • Currently Active (Checkbox - checked by default)
When the Account lookup field on the Contact record is updated, Is it possible to write a trigger that will update a current 'Associated Account' record to uncheck the 'Currently Active' checkbox, and populate the 'End Date'. Then also create a new 'Associated Account' record with the new Account, and Start Date?

In theory it would give an Account history in the related list of each Contact.... is this the best way to attack this challenge?

Many thanks,

Nick
SantoshChitalkarSantoshChitalkar
Hi Nick,

I guess you can achieve this using trigger. following psuedo code can work - 
1) create after update & after insert trigger on contact
2) upon insert, check the contact.AccountID. If it is not null then create a new record of associated account.
3)upon update, check for old contact.AccountId &new contact.AccountId if they are different then insert associated account.

regards,
Santosh
Mudasir WaniMudasir Wani
Hey Nick,

You can use the following code.

Trigger
trigger contactTrigger on Contact (after update) {
    if (Trigger.isAfter && Trigger.isUpdate){
        system.debug('Mudasir it is working');
        Contacthandler.handleAfterUpdate(trigger.oldmap,trigger.newmap);
    }
}
Handler Class