function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Tony QuintanaTony Quintana 

Copy data from custom field in Task activity and paste into a new Task

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to triggers but from everything I've read I need to use one to solve my dilemma. How do i go about writing a trigger that will copy a field from a task and paste that into the same field in a new task? I can's seem to find many examples of teh syntax to copy fields within an object then paste them into a new object.

Thanks
SivaGSivaG
Hi Tony,

Its possible to create a new task. But I need to know the exact requirement like
On which Object this task should be created, which field and when to create a new task i.e. when the task is inserted or updated etc.,

Thanks
Kumar
Hi Kumar,

I’ve created two custom activity fields  - Alert_comment__c  (text)  and auto_renew_days__c (picklist) .  When a user creates a new task they select a subject type and an appropriate due date for that task. There are instances where they would like to extend the due date, so a custom activity field was created labeled 'auto_renew_days__c' which is a picklist that has the option of 0, 30 , 60.  This field has been added to the Task object form. An additional custom field was created labeled 'Alert_comment_c' which is a text box.