function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Vinnie BVinnie B 

How to create a simple VF page that redirects immediately to a new URL

I know this has got to be simple but I just can't figure it out after hacking away for an hour.  I am not experienced at this.

I'm simply trying to override the New button on a custom object to a URL which pre-populates the Name field.  The URL was easy to develop (below).  It works just like the standard New button but one field is populated with some text.  (We use a workflow rule to set the Name field so there's no need for the user to enter anything.)

https://na18.salesforce.com/a0o/e?Name=[Set%20by%20Workflow%20Rule]&retURL=%2Fa0o%2Fo

When I want to change the default button it asks me for a VF page.  I have tried creating a simple VF page that just redirects to the URL above.  I'm a pretty novice VF developer and this simple task has got me struggling.

Thanks!!
SlashApex (Luis Luciani)SlashApex (Luis Luciani)
Hi Vinnie,

You should not need to create a VF page in order to achieve this.

Follow this steps:
  1. Go to the Setup page
  2. Go to Build > Create > Objects > Click on the label of your custom object
  3. Scroll down and click the button that says "New Button or Link"
  4. Enter a label for your new button. I would recommend something like "New <object Name here>"
  5. Select the display type of the button. This determines where you can put it.
  6. Pick a behavior. This is up to you
  7. Select URL as the content source
  8. Finally, on the big text area, just enter: /a0o/e?Name=Set%20by%20Workflow%20Rule&retURL=%2Fa0o%2Fo
After saving your new button, you will have to add it to the page layout or wherever you want to configure it to show.

Good luck!
Vinnie BVinnie B