function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Becky MillerBecky Miller 

Updating the lastlogindate to a custom field

I am trying to populate user.lastlogindate into the custom field in the User Object called date_last_login__c.  I am getting an error + loop did not match anything at input 'trigger'

trigger lastloginDate on User(before update) {
User u = [SELECT LastLoginDate FROM User WHERE Id =:UserInfo.getUserId()];
for(User b : Trigger.new){
u.date_last_login__c = b.LastLoginDate;
}
}

On a sidenote I am very very new at coding.  So, if you have a different way I should be doing this please change it up.  Thank you so much.
Best Answer chosen by Becky Miller
Andy BoettcherAndy Boettcher
Becky,

The two other answers are close, but you want to make sure that you bulkify your code - to prevent any governor limit errors when you are updating more than 100 rows.

NOTE!  If you do a dataloader load on the User object, this code will fire and may throw off the metric you're trying to find.

// To handle bulk updates, get all combinations of User/LastLoginDate for all users in trigge scope
	Map<Id, User> mapUserDates = new Map<Id, User>([SELECT Id, LastLoginDate FROM User WHERE Id IN :trigger.newMap.keySet()]);

// Loop through trigger.new
	for(User usr : Trigger.new){

// Pull the LastLoginDate field from the User map
		usr.date_last_login__c = mapUserDates.get(usr.Id).LastLoginDate;
	}
}

All Answers

Becky,

The two other answers are close, but you want to make sure that you bulkify your code - to prevent any governor limit errors when you are updating more than 100 rows.

NOTE!  If you do a dataloader load on the User object, this code will fire and may throw off the metric you're trying to find.

// To handle bulk updates, get all combinations of User/LastLoginDate for all users in trigge scope