function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Gabriel Corrêa de OliveiraGabriel Corrêa de Oliveira 

Force.com vs Salesforce branding

I am very new to Force.com and Salesforce.com, and I am having a hard time wrap my head around the platform.
The branding is very confusing to me.

Force.com is commercially presented as a PaaS solution; yet, new applications are created from within Salesforce, which is a CRM application.
Everything seems to stem from Salesforce, and brand new applications already contain CRM-related objects upon creation, such as Accounts, Opportunities, and so on. So, how does that make sense? What if I am not creating a CRM-related application? Why is the CRM application the center of everything?
KaranrajKaranraj
Salesforce.com will refer to CRM application which come with the out-of-box functionalities like sales cloud, service cloud. As you mentioned Force.com or Salesforce platform is presented as Paas where you can able to build custom application not only for CRM related, you can able to build any applications like expenses tracker or any health care related application or Finance or HR application using this platform. If you look at the core architecture of salesforce all the the sale cloud or servic cloud is on top the platform which allows to make customization on that.

User-added image

Check this link to know more details - https://developer.salesforce.com/trailhead/starting_force_com/starting_understanding_arch

In the view of licenses