function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Mike@MungosMike@Mungos 

​SOQL query on custom javascript button in order to create a validation rule on related object

Hi,

I am trying to create a custom button on a custom object which can only be clicked if a date on the parent oject is filled in.  I am new to SOQL and javascript but have managed to created custom buttons in the past with validation rules which related to the object they are on however I am struggling with cross object rules.

In this instance an Assessment__c can only be submitted if it's parent Referral__c has an accepted date that is not blank.

Any help would be very much apprecitated.

Here is the code so far:

{!REQUIRESCRIPT("/soap/ajax/30.0/connection.js")} 
{!REQUIRESCRIPT("/soap/ajax/24.0/apex.js")}

var ReferraAccepted = "SELECT Accepted_date__c FROM Referral__c WHERE Name = '{!Assessment__c.Referral__c}' LIMIT 1";

if (ReferraAccepted == null){alert ("Please submit the completed referral form to the Clearing House as this form cannot be submitted on it's own.")} 

else {

var newRecords = []; 
var c = new sforce.SObject("Assessment__c"); 
c.id ="{! Assessment__c.Id }"; 
c.Submit_for_assessment__c = true; 
newRecords.push(c); 
result = sforce.connection.update(newRecords); 
window.location.reload();
}

Best Answer chosen by Mike@Mungos
Apoorv Saxena 4Apoorv Saxena 4

Hi Mike,

Try this code -->>

var ReferraAccepted = sforce.connection.query("SELECT Referral__r.Accepted_Date__c from Assessment__c where id ='{!Assessment__c.Id}' limit 1");

records = ReferraAccepted.getArray("records"); 

var accDate = records[0].Referral__r.Accepted_Date__c; 

if(accDate==null){ 
alert("Please submit the completed referral form to the Clearing House as this form cannot be submitted on it's own.") 

else { 

var newRecords = []; 
c.id ="{!Assessment__c.Id }";