function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Morgan MarcheseMorgan Marchese 

Apex: Populate Data from One Record to Another in the same Object if they have a matching field?

Hi all, I'm new to apex but currently going through some online courses but haven't quite grasped how I can achieve this yet...

Scenario: We have a custom object from our Zuora managed package called 'Quote Charge'. Within this object are many records. Two of these records are technically 'associated' with each other, but not using a lookup field or any traditional SFDC linking. Instead, they have a custom field that shares a unique value between these 2 'associated' records. So, both of these records have a field where the value is "20150814ABCD" for example - that field is unique to these TWO records and will never be found on any other records of this object. One of these 2 records is named "Discount", and the other one can have any varying name.

Goal: I need to, using apex I presume, find these 2 matching records based on that custom field being an exact match between the 2, and then take the discount % from a field on the record named "Discount" and apply it to another custom field on the record that isn't named "Discount"

Can anyone give me a good starting point for this/point me in the right direction? I started writing some code in a class to play around with the idea, but I don't think I'm going about it the best way. Would appreciate some feedback from the SFDC Gurus.

Many thanks,

Morgan
Best Answer chosen by Morgan Marchese
Vishal_GuptaVishal_Gupta
Hi Morgan,

My assumption is that your code is executing in Before Insert, If yes please use the below code :

public static void linkDiscountsToCharges(List<zqu__QuoteCharge__c> newQuoteCharges)
    {