function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Tim AndrewsTim Andrews 

Need help with a cross-object Apex trigger

Hello all,

I am new to writing Apex triggers and am hung up on some practice I am working on. In my dev org, I have created two custom objects (Alpha__c and Beta__c). I am attempting to write a trigger that populates a lookup field on Beta__c called Beta_Apex_Test_Field_1__c with the data from the Alpha__c object field called Alpha_Test_Field_1__c. The update should trigger when the Alpha__c object record is updated to populate this field.

I've attempted to use code modified from other examples, but I'm getting stuck and the trigger doesn't fire or throw any exceptions. Below is the code I've written. Can someone help a struggling newbie developer?

// Attempting to update a lookup field on the Beta__c custom object called Beta_Apex_Test_Field_1__c with the value that is input into the Alpha__c custom 
// object field called Alpha_Test_Field_1__c. 

trigger SyncAlphaToBeta on Alpha__c (after update) {

Set<String> fieldupdates = new Set<String>();
    for(Alpha__c a : Trigger.new) {
        if(a.Alpha_Test_Field_1__c != null) fieldupdates.add(a.Alpha_Test_Field_1__c);
    }

Map<String, Beta__c> betas = new Map<String, Beta__c>();
    for(Beta__c b : [SELECT Id, Name, Beta_Apex_Test_Field_1__c FROM Beta__c WHERE Name IN :fieldupdates]) {
        betas.put(b.Name, b);

}

if(a.Alpha_Test_Field_1__c != null) {
            if(betas.containsKey(a.Alpha_Test_Field_1__c)) {
                a.Alpha_Test_Field_1__c = betas.get(a.Alpha_Test_Field_1__c).Id;
            }
        }
    }
}
Best Answer chosen by Tim Andrews
Neetu_BansalNeetu_Bansal
Hi Tim,