function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Bryan JimenezBryan Jimenez 

Help with Dynamic Soql Query

Hi, 
I am new to apex and I am trying to query a dynamic field but I cannot get it to work.

I have a field named "relationship lead" on a custom object named "Prospects".

I want to be able to query the records based on the relationship lead. Is that possible?

public class ClientRelationshipController {
 Public List<Prospect__c> getProspects() {
        List<Prospect__c> Prospects=[Select Name,Property__c,Property_Name__c,Phone__c,Mobile__c,Prospect_Score__c,Email__c,Relationship_Lead__c
                                     From Prospect__c 
                                     Where Created_Date__c = Yesterday 
                                     And RecordType__c = 'Prospect'
                                     And Relationship_Lead__c = 'Dynamic Field'];
        return Prospects;
      }

}

Best Answer chosen by Bryan Jimenez
3 Creeks3 Creeks
To use a variable in your query you prepend a colon to it.  So if the variable holding the value of Relationship_Lead__c that you are looking up is "reLead", it would look like this:

List<Prospect__c> Prospects=[Select Name,Property__c,Property_Name__c,Phone__c,Mobile__c,Prospect_Score__c,Email__c,Relationship_Lead__c From Prospect__c Where Created_Date__c = Yesterday                                    And RecordType__c = 'Prospect'  And Relationship_Lead__c = :relLead];

All Answers

3 Creeks3 Creeks
To use a variable in your query you prepend a colon to it.  So if the variable holding the value of Relationship_Lead__c that you are looking up is "reLead", it would look like this: