function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Bill PowellBill Powell 

Suggestions on an app?

Hi all, i'm relatively new to being a salesforce admin and am going through the trailhead modules now to take my test. I've been a user for several years and dipping into the dark side now :-) Hoping you can help 

Looking for something on the app exchange that will allow me to create barcodes that will relay fields I set in salesforce (item name, item #, cost per unit, etc). 

Additionally, looking for something that will allow me to scan said barcodes and automatically enter that data from the barcodes into salesforce after it is reviewed and "saved". 

Any suggestions? 

Kevin DarkKevin Dark
Hi Bill,

If by dipping into the dark side, you mean you are just starting down the road of becoming a Salesforce Admin and eventually taking the Admin 201 test, I would recommend focusing on the basics and building apps that help you develop a deeper understanding of the platform. I had some things I wanted to do for personal reasons that started me down the path of learning one off developer related items like Heroku Connect and custom Apex classes, and integrations with external APIs that I would estimate side tracked my admin learning by about month.

Kevin
Bill PowellBill Powell