function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
KCrock88KCrock88 

Trigger Help - Update Case Status based on Feed Comment

Hello! Hoping someone can help - we recently migrated from Case Comments to Case Feed Layouts within our community. 
  • When the "Case Status" field is in "Awaiting Customer Feedback" - we previously had workflow rules to kick the Case Status back to "Working" when a customer posted a comment
  • With Case Feed Layout - we were able to use Flow and Process Builder to replicate this action for a New Case Feed Item
  • With Case Feed Layout - we are struggling to replicate this functionality for a new Case Post Comment (customer posts a Feed Item Comment rather than a new feed Item)
What would be the best way to accomplish this? Not an Apex Developer by trade, but hoping this can be done with a relatively simple trigger - any feedback would be appreciated!
User-added image

Julie ODonnell 6Julie ODonnell 6
I have this same issue. Did you ever figure it out? 
Gokula KrishnanGokula Krishnan
Hi KCrock88,

I think you can achieve by trigger.
Reference: https://salesforce.stackexchange.com/questions/30730/trigger-update-case-field-based-on-feeditem

Thanks,
Amit Khanduri.Amit Khanduri.
HI Julie ODonnell 6 & KCrock88,
This worked for me ... You can try this .. Let me know if you have any doubt.
Trigger:
trigger SimpleTrigger on FeedItem (after insert) {
List<Id> caseIds = new List<Id>();
List<Case> updateCase = new List<Case>();
    for (FeedItem newFeed : Trigger.new) {
       if (newFeed.ParentId.getSObjectType() == Case.SObjectType) {
   caseIds.add(newfeed.ParentId);
   Case myCase = [Select Id, AccountId, Status FROM Case WHERE Id IN :caseIds];
           updateCase.add(mycase); 
           for(Case c : updateCase){
if(c.Status != 'Working' && c.AccountId != Null){
c.Status = 'Working';
        }
    }
}
}