function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Patrick G. BrownPatrick G. Brown 

Trigger to add master record id based on values from detail record id

I have a trigger to create a Monthly Outreach record that looks to be correct, but I continue to run into a required field error.  Here is an example of my error:

Image of error

I have a master record (Outreach Target) with two identical values (see below) that I'm manually adding to this child record for the purposes of matching.  Those two fields are Location ID and Year Submitted.  My trigger is attempting to add a parent Outreach Target record ID the child Monthly Outreach record by querying the Outreach Target object and searching for a record with matching criteria.  The criteria is unique, so my SOQL query will only find one record.

Here is the master record who's Id I'm attempting to add to my child Monthly Outreach record:

Master Record

Here is my trigger:

trigger SetOutreachTarget on Monthly_Outreaches__c (after insert, after update) {
    for (Monthly_Outreaches__c mo : Trigger.new) {
        String moy = mo.Year__c;
        String moa = mo.Location_ID__c;
        List<Outreach_Target__c> ot = [SELECT Id FROM Outreach_Target__c WHERE Outreach_Target_Year__c = :moy AND Location_ID__c = :moa];        
        if(ot.size()>0){
            mo.Outreach_Target__c = ot[0].Id;}
    }
}

I've even tried hard-coding the master record ID into the query to guarantee I'm finding the matching record, but I continue to get the required field error.  Can anyone please help me solve this issue?

Mahesh DMahesh D
Hi Patrick,

Please check the latest code:

Here I considered:
(1) Naming Convention.
(2) Alignment.
(3) Bulkified the trigger.
(4) Added comments.

trigger SetOutreachTarget on Monthly_Outreaches__c (before insert, before update) {

String locStrSet = new Set<String>();