function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
ABC XYZ 39ABC XYZ 39 

Help with writng SOQL queries on create/ update trigger on lead object

Hi, 
I need to write a trigger on lead object. This trigger will return all the record IDs of any new lead records / created. I need to further  filter the IDs and exclude all converted lead records. I guess I need to use a SOQL query in this trigger? Please let me know the best way to fulfilment this requirement using code. I'm new to Apex and Salesforce. Any samples will help a lot. Thanks
Best Answer chosen by ABC XYZ 39
Mahesh DMahesh D
Hi ABC,

Please find the below code:

Here I considered:

(1) Naming convention.
(2) Alignment.

//
// Trigger on Lead object to handle before insert or update events.
//
trigger LeadTrigger on Lead (before insert, before update) {
    // Iterate through the input records.
    for(Lead ld :Trigger.new) {
        if (!ld.IsConverted) {
            //As you want to exclude, you can write your logic here.
        }   
    }
}

Please go through the below links for Lead Convention:

https://help.salesforce.com/apex/HTViewHelpDoc?id=leads_notes.htm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jxnwKlKM438

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tOvQFAGhEe8

Also look into below best practices in writing the Trigger:

1) One Trigger Per Object

A single Apex Trigger is all you need for one particular object. If you develop multiple Triggers for a single object, you have no way of controlling the order of execution if those Triggers can run in the same contexts

2) Logic-less Triggers
If you write methods in your Triggers, those can’t be exposed for test purposes. You also can’t expose logic to be re-used anywhere else in your org.

3) Context-Specific Handler Methods
Create context-specific handler methods in Trigger handlers

4) Bulkify your Code