function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
James MeyerJames Meyer 

Sum a SubQuery in SOQL

Trying to come up with an SOQL query to sum last months sales of specific items.  In short, they need to be in our "Reporting" company vertical, but not include some products.

I'm new to SOQL, but experienced with SQL...which well, is a bit frustrating, because I could do this in my sleep in SQL.

So, I have this query:

SELECT
  (SELECT TotalPrice FROM OpportunityLineItems WHERE (not PriceBookEntry.Product2.Name like '%ancillary%') and (not PriceBookEntry.Product2.Name like '%listen%') )
FROM
  Opportunity
WHERE
  CloseDate = LAST_MONTH AND
  RecordType.Name = 'Reporting' AND  
  StageName = 'Closed Won'  AND
  Id NOT IN (SELECT OpportunityId FROM OpportunityLineItem WHERE PriceBookEntry.Product2.Name like '%ancillary%' or PriceBookEntry.Product2.Name like '%listen%' )

But, it's returning a dataset with an array.  I've tried doing a sum around the subquery, and I get an error (MALFORMED_QUERY).

How do I collapse the array to get a sum of the LineItems for those products?  

Thanks.

Best Answer chosen by James Meyer
JethaJetha
Similer to java, in salesforce also we have aggregation Query :

AggregateResult[] groupedResults
  = [SELECT SUM(TotalPrice) FROM OpportunityLineItems WHERE (not PriceBookEntry.Product2.Name like '%ancillary%') 
     AND (not PriceBookEntry.Product2.Name like '%listen%')
     AND Opportunity.StageName = 'Closed Won'
     AND Opportunity.RecordTypeId = Schema.getGlobalDescribe().get('Opportunity').getDescribe().getRecordTypeInfosByName().get('Reporting').getRecordTypeId()
     AND Opportunity.CloseDate > System.today().AddMonths(-1)];

for (AggregateResult ar : groupedResults)  {
    System.debug('TotalPrice' + ar.get('expr0'));
}