function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
RustyboyRustyboy 

Use jquery to enable spellcheck on rich text area

Hi,

We have customers that desparately need spell checking switched on for rich text areas (our app produces meeting minutes). I have read several posts about using jquery to "switch on" the spellcheck attribute but cannot get it to work. I have never used jquery before so am probably making a very basic mistake.

Here are the relevant code excerpts

<apex:page Controller="NewMeetingController" tabstyle="My_Meetings__tab" sidebar="false" 
	deferLastCommandUntilReady="true">

<apex:includeScript value="https://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.7.2/jquery.min.js" />
	<script>
		j$ = jQuery.noConflict();
		j$(document).ready(function() {
		j$('iframe[id*=meetingPurpose]').contents().find('body').attr('spellcheck','true');				
	   j$('iframe[id*=meetingOutcomes]').contents().find('body').attr('spellcheck','true');				
		});		
	</script>

etc..

<apex:pageBlockSection id="meetingDescriptionsSection" title="Purpose & Outcomes" collapsible="false" columns="2" >          
          <apex:inputField value="{!series.Purpose__c}"  id="meetingPurpose" />
          <apex:inputField value="{!series.Outcomes__c}" id="meetingOutcomes"/>
     </apex:pageBlockSection>

And here is the page source excerptwith spell checker NOT enabled

<body id="j_id0:theForm:meetingDetailsBlock:meetingDescriptionsSection:meetingPurpose:textAreaDelegate_Purpose__c_rta_body" contenteditable="true" class="cke_editable cke_editable_themed cke_contents_ltr cke_show_borders" spellcheck="false">sdfsdf dfsdf dsf ds</body>

Any ideas?

Best Answer chosen by Rustyboy
RustyboyRustyboy
I finally found a method that works, and it targets all Rich Text Fields in the page. This enables the native broswer spellchecker

I found this solution at: