function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Adam CoppinAdam Coppin 

Formula to calculate the number of a weekday between two dates

Hi All,

I'm a bit new to SalesForce and am trying to learn the formula syntaxes through example, but am stuck on a particular problem.  I need to calculate the number of a given week day between two dates.  For example, the number of Mondays between a start date and an end date for a record. or the number of tuesdays.

Basically, I have an object that captures the times that the object occurs on a given day of the week through a text field for each day of the week.  I need to calculate the number of times the days with entries in them occur between the start date and end date of a record.

For example, record 1 has an entry for Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday.
Record 2 has an entry for Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday.

How can I count the number of occurrences between the start date and end date fields?

Thanks!

Adam
Best Answer chosen by Adam Coppin
Adam CoppinAdam Coppin
Found a solution after some digging and poking at the examples given for calculating the number of work days between two dates.  During my poking, I realized that the reason I was having trouble editing this particular formula was because nowhere I saw it, was it broken down and explained.  Hopefully, this will be helpful to a few others looking for ways to count the number of mondays between two dates, or any other particular day of the week...

First off, here's the formula to calculate the number of Mondays between two dates (Start_Date__c and End_Date__c):
CASE(MOD( Start_Date__c  - DATE(1985,6,24),7), 
  0 , CASE( MOD( End_Date__c - Start_Date__c ,7),1,0,2,0,3,0,4,0,5,0,6,0,0),
  1 , CASE( MOD( End_Date__c - Start_Date__c ,7),1,0,2,0,3,0,4,0,5,0,6,1,0),