function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
MCLMCL 

How to create a formula - language and gender

Hi there,

Can someone advise me on how to create a forluma with languages and genders please. I have created picklists of languages, German and English, and genders, Female and Male. I would like to create a new formula field for the letter salutations. For instance, If a contact is a female and speaks German, her salutation will be Frau. I am new to Salesforce. Any advice will be much appreciated!!

Thank you,
Best Answer chosen by MCL
Parker EdelmannParker Edelmann
I see the error. the "blank"s had significance in the formula. Apparently "blank" doesn't work, so I replaced it with "null". I tested the syntax in my DE this time because I did so terribly earlier. Try this:
IF(
ISPICKVAL(Gender__c,"Male"),CASE(Language__c, "German", "Herr","English", "Mr." , null),
IF(ISPICKVAL(Gender__c, "Female"), CASE(Language__c, "German", "Frau","English", "Mrs.", null), null))

Again, I appologize for my bad formula building skills. I've gotten a little rusty. If you're wondering what ISPICKVAL() does, it takes a field of picklist type in the first argument and text in the second. It creates a text representation of the Picklist field's value and compares it with the text you entered in the second argument. If they match, the function returns true, if not, it returns false. I should have incluced the other part of the documentation that I referenced: https://help.salesforce.com/apex/HTViewHelpDoc?id=customize_functions_i_z.htm&language=en_US if you scroll down a little, you'll find information about ISPICKVAL.

All Answers

There is a Standard Contact field called Salutation. Unfortunately, this is a standard picklist field, and besides the values, it cannot be customized because it is standard.