function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Namina P VNamina P V 

eclipse does not allow creating apex class

Hi All,

I am using eclipse for force.com project.

Also I am a beginner. I have created one project with my developer edition details. But when I tried to create new class (right click--> new->force.com->apex class), it shows an error that 'Unable to check Apex class Permisions-- invaild username, password, security token,, or user locked out'. Why its showing like this. 

Please help me out.
Thanks in advance.

SandhyaSandhya (Salesforce Developers) 
Hi Namina,

I suggest you consider below points.

If you don't see "Force.com Project" under "New" menu, then your Eclipse might be missing Force.com add-on. I guess that this is what your issue is.

Please follow the instruction below to install IDE with Force.com add-on

http://boards.developerforce.com/t5/General-Development/Successful-Eclipse-and-Force-com-IDE-installation-share-your/m-p/502367

You could also get this error message if the password or token used by your project is no longer valid

To update your project connection, please goto

Right mouse click project folder => Force.com => Project properties => Force.com

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Invalid username, password, security token; or user locked out - 

This error indicates a problem with the credentials inbuild.properties:
Username — Verify that your username is correct on this account. When connecting to a sandbox instance, your sandbox name is appended to your username. For example, if your production username is foo@salesforce.com, and one of your sandboxes is called bar, then your sandbox username is foo@salesforce.com.bar.