function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
AJ5AJ5 

trigger to update primary email with alternative email upon bounced notfication

Hello!

I'm pretty new to salesforce and I’ve been tasked with finding a way to update the records in my Lead object based on bounce reason. Specifically, If I send out an email and the message bounces, I want to trigger a workflow process that automatically updates my primary email field with my alternative email field. Reason being, I can only send out mass emails to primary email addresses. I tried taking a simpler approach by taking email and updating it using ‘Bounced Reason = “” ‘, and It didn’t work. I’ve researched and have come to the conclusion that I will have to go DEV route and use a query to access leads with bounced emails then update them that way. What I wanted to do was have this set to TRIGGER, but not sure how to go querying for each record. Any help, guidance, and a little bit of mind mapping will go a long way.

Ex.
Email: lo2222lo@xa.com email bounced        Alt Email: lolo2222@xa.com
Trigger Auto Update
Email: lolo2222@xa.com                      Alt Email: lolo2222@xa.com
Ajay LAjay L
In order to see the leads which are bounced.

Please create formula field on Lead object, that will tell you if the email is bounced or not.

User-added image

Based on this flag you can even write a Process builder flow or Workflow rule to update the email or any other field.

Let me know if this helps.

Regards,
Ajay
AJ5AJ5
@AjayL