function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Preeti Khanna 10Preeti Khanna 10 

Update count on custom object based on records created in asset object with status as installed

I have a custom Object in which I have  a field user and added a field to display no. of assets(for count) created by user in asset object where status is installed.
Like if I have 5 assets created by user A whose status is installed then in custom object field it should be updated as 5.If any of the asset is deleted/updated then it should updated. the count as well.
Same way if user B has 3 assets whose status is installed then for User B in custom object in count field it should show as 3.

Request you to help on priority as I am new to salesforce.

Dhanya NDhanya N
Hi Preeti,

Please check this code.

Trigger : 
trigger on Assets assetstrigger(after insert, after delete) {

assetsHandler objHandler = new assetsHandler ();

if(trigger.isAfter && trigger.isInsert)
        objHandler.onAfterInsertOrDelete(trigger.new);

if(trigger.isAfter && trigger.isDelete)
		objHandler.onAfterInsertOrDelete(trigger.old);
}
Controller :
public with sharing class assetsHandler {

public void onAfterInsertOrDelete(list<assets> lstAssets) {

list<Custom_Object__c> lstToUpdateInCustomObject = new list<Custom_Object__c>();
		for(assets objAssets: lstNewAssets) {

setCustomObjectId.add(objAssets.CustomObjectId)
		}

AggregateResult[] groupedResults = [SELECT COUNT(Id), Custom_Object__c FROM assets where Custom_Object__c IN :setCustomObjectId AND Status = 'Installed' GROUP BY Custom_Object__c ];

for(AggregateResult ar:groupedResults) {

Id custid = (ID)ar.get('Custom_Object__c');

Integer count = (INTEGER)ar.get('expr0');

Custom_Object__c cust1 = new Custom_Object__c(Id=custid);

cust1.count__c = count;

lstToUpdateInCustomObject.add(cust1);

}