function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
NevDevNevDev 

Trigger that creates a custom record if a checkbox is true

Hi guys,

I'm new to Apex and I am trying to create a trigger that creates a duplicate record called Section_2_Balance_Sheet on a Contacts record, if a checkbox called Joint_c is true. 

I have created a lookup field on the contact record which looks up to contacts. If this lookup field is populated I'd like this clients name to automatically populate the Client_c field in the Section_2_Balance_Sheet record.

Is this possible? 
Santosh Kumar 275Santosh Kumar 275
trigger createDup on <ObjectName>(after insert, after Update){
List<ObjectName> dupRecordList = new List<ObjectName>();
for(ObjectName ob : trigger.new){
     if(ob.Joint__c == true){
        dupRecordList.add(ob.deepClone());
     }
}
insert  dupRecordList ;
}

OR
trigger createDup on <ObjectName>(after insert, after Update){
List<ObjectName> dupRecordList = new List<ObjectName>();
for(ObjectName ob : trigger.new){
     if(ob.Joint__c == true){
        ObjectName dupRecord = new ObjectName(field1=ob.field1, field2 = ob.field2......so on)
        dupRecordList.add(dupRecord );
     }
}
insert  dupRecordList ;
}

NevDevNevDev
Thanks for this Santosh,

I seem to be running into an error, also, do I need to write some class before I migrate it from the Sandbox to production?

User-added image
What is your object name on which you are writing the trigger?
Here remove "<>" bracket from line 1.
And whenever you are using any custom object or custom field it is appended with __c. 
NevDevNevDev
ok so I have removed "< >" but now I am getting this error

User-added image
NevDevNevDev