function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Mike SummittMike Summitt 

Related list using "grandfather" relationship.

I want to create a related list to drop onto a page, based on an indirect relationship.

Example: I have an object subscription and a second object subscriptiondetail, which has a lookup (not a master/detail) to subscription.  The subscriptiondetail also contains a lookup to the standard SF object Product.  I want to define a related list and put it on the product page, containing subscriptions that have subscriptiondetail records that relate to the product.  I don't want a related list of subscriptiondetails, the related list will need to contain fields from the subscription object, so it needs to be a related list of subscriptions, but the actual relationship is a level lower in subscriptiondetail.

Is this possible by creating a controller or class for just the related list, rather than replacing the entire parent page with a custom version?

Best Answer chosen by Mike Summitt
Veenesh VikramVeenesh Vikram
Hi Mike,

You can achieve the same by using "Inline VF page". You create a custom Related list in a VF page and put that VF page "In-Line" on the Detail page of the record. No need to replicate the whole detail page! :)
Refer : http://salesforcesource.blogspot.co.uk/2008/10/how-to-create-custom-related-list-on.html

Best Regards
Veenesh

All Answers

Hi Mike,

You can achieve the same by using "Inline VF page". You create a custom Related list in a VF page and put that VF page "In-Line" on the Detail page of the record. No need to replicate the whole detail page! :)
Refer : http://salesforcesource.blogspot.co.uk/2008/10/how-to-create-custom-related-list-on.html

Best Regards
Veenesh
This was selected as the best answer
Mike SummittMike Summitt