function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Roger WickiRoger Wicki 

Database.update() throws dml exception

Hi Community

I am new to using Database.update() method and I thought that using the Database class would not throw any kind of Exceptions. I use this as my source information:
https://developer.salesforce.com/docs/atlas.en-us.apexcode.meta/apexcode/langCon_apex_dml_database.htm
@TestVisible private void updateExistingOpportunities() {
	list<Database.SaveResult> results = Database.update(existingOpportunityMap.values());
	String errorMessage = '';
	for ( Integer i = 0; i < results.size(); i++ ) {
		if ( !results.get(i).isSuccess() ) {
			if ( errorMessage.equals('') ) {
				errorMessage = 'Following Opportunities have failed during the update:\n\n';
			}
			errorMessage += existingOpportunityMap.values().get(i).Name;
			errorMessage += '\n';
			errorMessage += 'https://eu4.salesforce.com/';
			errorMessage += existingOpportunityMap.values().get(i).Id;
			errorMessage += 'Errors:\n';
			for ( Database.Error theError : results.get(i).getErrors() ) {
				errorMessage += theError.getStatusCode();
				errorMessage += '\n';
				errorMessage += theError.getMessage();
			}
		}
	}
}
The above is my method I like to test. I want to force running through the result loop with an error so i get maximum code coverage and see that the output is as I desired it. I tried it with an inserted Opportunity of which I tried putting the CloseDate on null. But this throws a DML Exception. I thought I would not get any exceptions, but be able to read out the Database.result...

Any hints on that?
Best Answer chosen by Roger Wicki
LizzyLizzy
Hi Roger,

I think your question may actually be answered in the link you provided: