function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Andrea SloanAndrea Sloan 

Field Visibility on Accounts Screen

I am an admin and have been requrested to introduce a picklist field called Account Category on my Accounts screen but to be made visible only under particular record type combinations. I truly want to stay away from creating new record types as well as new page layouts for users to not see this one field under a differenet page layout. From a system admin maintenance perspective for just one field, a record type with additional page layouts is not worth the future maintenance trouble.
I would in an ideal world like to have this newAccount Category field viewable to all users under the scenarios below but all under the SAME default account page layout that I use for all my reocrds. Is there any way this could be accomlished with VisualForce as it apepars it's not possible to ahve the field invisible in Salesforce unless I introduce record types and diffferent page layouts.

Below are my scenarios:

1. Account Classification: Retail 
Source Market: Mexico
Account Category: Show 4 out of 4 possible values (would be dependent field to above fields)

2. Account Classification Non Retail
Source Market : Mexico
Account category: Show 4 out fo 4 possible values (same as above f or Mexico)

3. Account Classification: Non-Retail
Source Market :USA or Canada (canada is a separate value from USA)
Account Category: 3 out of 4 possible values

4. Account Classification: Retail
Source Market :USA or Canada (canada is a separate value from USA)
Account Category: User should not have the ability to  select anything and field should look white blank. Ideally, if field could even be invisible, that would be great (without creating a record type that is)