function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Aaron Persich 8Aaron Persich 8 

How to build a test class for my trigger

Hello,

I am very new to triggers and code and will need some help with a test class.  I have found the below trigger on the web and added it to my sandbox.  I have tested it and it works great.  The trigger updates a "Contract Status" checkbox on the account if there is an active contract associated to it.  Additionally, it will set the checkbox to false if there are no active contracts. 

I am now trying to use a changset to push this into production but I think I need to create a test class to validate it in Prod.  I could be wrong with this assumption.  Can someone please help create a test class or guide me through the process to push this into production?

trigger AaronPTest on Contract (after insert, after Update) {

Set<Id> setAccountId = new Set<Id>();  

List<Account> lstToUpdate = new List<Account>();

for(Contract rec : Trigger.New)

{

setAccountId.add(rec.AccountId);

}

List<Account> lstAccount = [SELECT Id,(SELECT Id FROM Contracts WHERE Contract_Status__c = true),Contract_Status__c FROM Account Where Id IN:setAccountId];

for(Account acc : lstAccount)

{

if(acc.Contracts.size() > 0 && !acc.Contract_Status__c){

acc.Contract_Status__c = true;

lstToUpdate.add(acc);

}

else if(acc.Contracts.size() == 0 && acc.Contract_Status__c)

{

acc.Contract_Status__c = false;

lstToUpdate.add(acc);

}

}

Database.update(lstToUpdate);
}

Thanks,

Aaron

Best Answer chosen by Aaron Persich 8
Nagendra ChinchinadaNagendra Chinchinada
Hi Aaron,
Here is the test class for ur trigger, and will cover most of ur code. I coded it in note pad and didn't execut it, so do corrections to ur self if small syntax errors r there.

public class contractTest{
static testmethod void testContractTrigger(){