• Member since 2020

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies
Hi all,

I have a picklist that has names (text) that are the same as my contact names (Appointment_with__c)

I have a lookup field to contact that I want to autofill whenever a name is selected from my picklist. The lookup field is called (Staff__c)

I made a basic trigger but encountering silly errors and perhaps not the best code as I am a beginner:

trigger Autofill on Event (before insert, before update) {

Set<String> ids = new Set<String>();

for(Event evt: Trigger.New)
    {
        if(evt.Appointment_with__c != null)
        {
            ids.add(evt.Appointment_with__c);
        }
    }

List<Staff__c> dclocation = [SELECT Id, Name FROM Staff__c WHERE Name in: ids];

for(Event evt1: Trigger.New)
    {
        evt1.Staff__c = dclocation[0].id;
    }
}

I keep getting 'Invalid type: Staff__c'
Variable does not exist: id'
Hi all, I am trying to create a trigger that will autopopulate my lookup field when a value is selected from the picklist however I am getting these errors and I don't know why.

My lookup field is to contact (which is filtered).

User-added image
Hi all,

I have a picklist that stores names of people. I also have a lookup field to contact.

I want to know if there is a way to auto-populate the lookup field whenever the picklist value has been selected. This will be all be done on the Event object.

Could someone provide an example too? Would be much appreciated!
Hi all,

I would like to know if there is a way to query the database based on the value in the picklist and check it against the name of a contact to grab the email field from that contact?

If there is a way, could someone kindly show an example of this in a class/trigger? The picklist is located on the event/activity object.
Hi all,

I want to be able to open a new record page when my checkbox is set to false.