• Member since 2023

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hey Community, 

I'm a junior developer looking to get a feel for best practice when it comes to trigger helper/handler methods that take take an old and new map then apply some logic in a bulkified and efficient way (0 of N if possible). 

Will include my example to see if possible to make more efficient, but if anyone has a better example or template they use it would really help me on my journey? 

Task was to improve this method, business process had actually simplified since this was made so it was easier but I'm sure it has lots of room for improvement. 

Original method: 

public static void assignReopenedCases(Map<ID,Case> oldMap, Map<ID,Case> newMap) {

Case oldCase;
        Case newCase;
        Set<String> formIDs = new Set<String>{'4','11','14','17','21','24'};

if(Userinfo.getLastName()!=Constants.USER_API_USER) return;

List<Case> cases = [SELECT Id, OwnerId, Cease_Related_to__c, FormName__r.FormID__c, LastQueueID__c FROM Case WHERE Id IN :newMap.keySet()];
        Map<String,Id> queuesByName = getQueuesByName();
        Map<Id,Id> caseMap = new Map<Id,Id>();
        for(Case c : cases) {
            newCase = newMap.get(c.Id);
            oldCase = oldMap.get(c.Id);
            if(oldCase.Status==Constants.CASE_STATUS_CLOSED && newCase.Status==Constants.CASE_STATUS_REOPENED) {
                if(newCase.RecordTypeName__c == Constants.CASE_REC_TYPE_OPERATIONS) {
                    if(formIDs.contains(c.FormName__r.FormID__c) && c.Cease_Related_to__c!=null && c.Cease_Related_to__c.contains('Vehicles')) {
                        //assign to 'Vehicles'
                        caseMap.put(c.Id, queuesByName.get(Constants.QUEUE_VEHICLES));
                    }
                    else {
                        //assign to 'General'
                        caseMap.put(c.Id, queuesByName.get(Constants.QUEUE_GENERAL));
                    }
                }