• 25 Points
  • Member since 2007

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

I feel like a total n00b asking this question as the concept of public, global, static keywords seems pretty basic but are there any negatives to declaring class variables as static?

I have an asynchronous method that needs to access variables in the class but the only way for this static @future method to see the variables is to make them static. Is this acceptable? Is there a better way? See example below.

public class EmailDomains {

//Only way for @future method can see these variables is to make then static
static List<Account> accountsToUpdate = new List<Account>();
static Set<String> currentEmailDomains;
static Set<String> emailDomainsAfterClean;

//Called from trigger, visualforce, etc
@future
public static void rescanAccounts(Set<Id> acctIDs){
//Do cool stuff
//need to access list variables above
}
}

I suppose when you are self taught you miss some programming basics.

Thanks,

Jason

Message Edited by TehNrd on 02-05-2010 01:08 PM
  • February 05, 2010

I feel like a total n00b asking this question as the concept of public, global, static keywords seems pretty basic but are there any negatives to declaring class variables as static?

I have an asynchronous method that needs to access variables in the class but the only way for this static @future method to see the variables is to make them static. Is this acceptable? Is there a better way? See example below.

public class EmailDomains {

//Only way for @future method can see these variables is to make then static
static List<Account> accountsToUpdate = new List<Account>();
static Set<String> currentEmailDomains;
static Set<String> emailDomainsAfterClean;

//Called from trigger, visualforce, etc
@future
public static void rescanAccounts(Set<Id> acctIDs){
//Do cool stuff
//need to access list variables above
}
}

I suppose when you are self taught you miss some programming basics.

Thanks,