• 105 Points
  • Member since 2010

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

I'm trying to create an 'after update' trigger on a custom object (billing_event__c).

It needs to set the value of a lookup field (Account) on the billing event whenever the billing event is updated. The twist is that the Account field needs to be set to the same Account that another lookup field on the billing event object is already pointing to.   For example, the billing event has a lookup to a project called 'Project X'. If you look at Project X, it has a lookup to an Account called 'ABC Company'. I need to set the Acocunt field on the billing event object to 'ABC Company' whenever the billing event is updated.

Here's what I wrote, but it is not working. As I'm new at this, I'm obviously doing something wrong:

trigger BE_Trigger on pse__Billing_Event__c (before update) {

pse__Billing_Event__c myBillingEvent = trigger.old[0];

myBillingEvent.Account__c = myBillingEvent.pse__Project__r.pse__Account__c;

update myBillingEvent;

}

Any ideas ?

Thanks,

Darrell

Have a public site whose actions I would like to, through a trigger, create a chatter post. I know people have come to this issue before, i'm looking for good workarounds.

The first one I think of is having a batch to find the record of something the site user can update and having that batch schedule itself at the end. But I've seen this get very messy. The list of scheduled jobs gets very big and at some point you have the issue of a phantom job that prevents you from deploying code even in sandboxes. 

Another possible is to have an email service that accepts email sent from the site controller with the information of what post to create. I've never tried this before so not sure about any pitfalls asides from using email limit and it just being not nice.

Any other ideas/work arounds? Thanks.