• 5 Points
  • Member since 2011

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

I am using email to case and we sometimes get cases with no matching contact found. I would like to have a custom button on the case that can open a new contact screen and parse the Web email address to a custom VF page I created. The new page should close on successful save (contact creation) or by clicking cancel. I am new to programming and would appreciate some assistance on how to nake this work.

Thanks

My VF page:

<apex:page standardController="Contact" showHeader="false" sidebar="false">
<style type="text/css">
h2{
font-size:20pt;
}
</style>

<h2>Create a new contact</h2>
<p />
<apex:form >
<apex:pageblock >
<apex:pageblockbuttons location="bottom">
<apex:commandButton action="{!save}" value="Save" id="SaveButton"/>
<apex:commandButton action="{!cancel}" value="Cancel" id="CancelButton"/>
</apex:pageblockbuttons>

<apex:pageblocksection columns="1">
<apex:inputField value="{!Contact.FirstName}"/>
<apex:inputField value="{!Contact.LastName}" />
<apex:inputField value="{!Contact.Email}" />
<apex:inputField value="{!Contact.AccountID}" required="true" />
</apex:pageblocksection>
</apex:pageblock>
</apex:form>
</apex:page>

OK so I've been an admin for about 3 years and (for better or worse) know more about SF than anyone in my company.  i have some experience with apex and Visualforce, but little with triggers.

what i need is to write a trigger in production that does this:  the trigger should create a new record in a custom object called "Vehicles" when an Opportunity record is created with a specific value in one of its custom fields (the field is called "Type").  So, when an opp is created and saved with Type = "x", then the trigger should fire, and a new vehicle object record should be created that is populated with a few fields from that opportunity record.