• 0 Points
  • Member since 2013

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

I'm writing a simple trigger/class that, upon creation, editing or deletion of a Contract, counts all the 'Active' contracts underneath the related Account and updates the appropriate field on the Account record. 

I was up all last night trying to figure out the test failure errors I was getting, to no avail. I have a feeling somone on here will recognize the problem within 30 seconds =). By the way, I'm a newbie trying to learn, so any comments as to style, form and functionality are appreciated!

The error message is: 

Error Message	System.DmlException: Insert failed. First exception on row 0; first error: CANNOT_INSERT_UPDATE_ACTIVATE_ENTITY, Contract_Triggers: execution of AfterInsert

caused by: System.NullPointerException: Attempt to de-reference a null object

Class.Contract_Handler.Count_Active_Contracts: line 14, column 1
Trigger.Contract_Triggers: line 11, column 1: []
Stack Trace	
Class.Contract_Test_Data.createAccountWithContracts: line 16, column 1 Class.Contract_Test_Methods.testContractCount_case1: line 9, column 1

I believe the problem lies somewhere between the actual Class and the Test Class responsible for creating test data. 

Here is the current form of the Contract_Handler class:

public class Contract_Handler{

public static Integer Count_Active_Contracts(Account acc)