• Member since 2006

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Greetings folks,

I've been banging my head, searching all over SFDC user/developer sites and googled, but still can't find solution. I have read in these forums of others doing this, but they do not post the complete code of how it's done. I am xhtml/css savvy but am a total newbie at JavaScript (except cut 'n' paste) and S-Controls (this is my first attempt).

DESCRIPTION
---------------------------------------------------
This is what I am attempting to do:

[]  Create a new record of a Custom Object (Quote/Sales Order) via a custom link on Opportunities that calls an S-Control.
[]  The custom object is a related list (child) to opportunities.)
[]  When the link is clicked, the S-Control will open the input form page of a new record of the custom object with certain fields prepopulated.
[]  These fields are prepopulated with data contained in fields of the related Opportunity and Account.
[]  The input page with the prepopulated is to remain open so that the user may complete any remaining fields he/she wishes and then saves the new record.

PURPOSE
This custom object has fields containing the exact same data as fields in the related Opportunity and Account. Thus the purpose of the S-Control is to improve usability and data integrity by eliminating the need to force users to perform double transcription.

CODE
Here is the code I wrote with comments on field types and alert results. It doesn't create the new record and returns the saveAlert ID as null.

Code:
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">

<html>
<head>
<title>Create Quote</title>

<script language="javascript" src="https://www.salesforce.com/services/lib/ajax/beta3.3/sforceclient.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<script language="javascript">
<!--
function initPage() {
sforceClient.registerInitCallback(createQuote);