• 0 Points
  • Member since 2008

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

First off, I confess to being a complete newbie when it comes to Apex development. So I set up a code consult at Dreamforce, and was thrilled to get the help of two wonderful guys, who were able to show me how to write a really simple, basic trigger that we badly need. They also told me that before I could deploy it, I had to have a test class first. I already had a test class in my Sandbox (and in production, for that matter) written by Astadia for a previous project. It appeared to work fine as a test, so they told me all I needed to do was go home and deploy both the new trigger and the test class. Unfortunately, when I tried to do that, the deployment failed - with four errors. Two were new validation rules that weren't in place the last time my Sandbox had been refreshed (and that only applied to the functions called by the test class, not those in my new trigger), and two others were errors I don't understand, but seem to be telling me that my test code isn't sufficient. Namely:

*OpportunityAfterUpdate - Test coverage of selected Apex Trigger is 0%, at least 1% test coverage is required

*Deploy Error - Average test coverage across all Apex Classes and Triggers is 20% at least 75% test coverage is required

BTW - I'm trying to deploy the code from the Sandbox using the new Deploy Change Sets function. Maybe the problem is that I have to use a different tool? Honestly, I'm kind of clueless.

So it looks like I need new test code, but I'm at a total loss for where to even start. My trigger is really pretty small and only calls a few functions, so it seems like my test code should only need to be simple too, but like I said - I'm at a total loss for where to even start. I'm hoping one of you can help me out!