• 0 Points
  • Member since 2009

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

I'm relatively new to Apex, but have already developed a very complicated app in visualforce/apex.

Well, after working with SOQL for the past six months, I'm convinced I'm either still doing something terribly wrong, or SOQL is a bad joke. Please help me understand what I'm missing.

I have many objects that all relate to one another through lookup fields, sometimes one to many, others one to one, others many to many.

For example, object1 has a lookup to object2. So, if I get object1, and I want to then retrieve other fields in the associated object2, I then have to use soql and Object2 = [select id,name,other_field__c from object2 where id=:obj2id];

We do this all over the place in our app, in literally every class.

I have basically discovered that in order to use SOQL, I can't use the "where" clause inline in a loop without hitting SOQL limits. So I have completely stopped using the where clause.

Instead, I have a utility class where I query from the database once in the beginning (using soql) all of the records for any objects we're going to need, and then I iterate through them using a for loop, and look for the field with the attribute I want. Occasionally we have hit "too many statement" limits using this approach, but it seems like it allows us at least to write a functioning app.

It feels rather absurd to do this (and almost like cheating, but moreso doing something outrageously ridiculous from a programming perspective), but we haven't been able to figure any way around this architecture.

Thanks in advance!

David

There is an astonishingly annoying bug. When I try to type code into the PageEditor, <apex:page> (or whatever tag), the popup of potential tags prevents me from hitting the : key. It is so infuriating it's not even funny. Has anyone else noticed this?

Thanks,

David