• 0 Points
  • Member since 2009

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies
how are you guys working around this limitation???

I have 2 customized objects, which need a many-to-many relationship, so I created a 3rd object as a junction.

But, in order to utilize the info in the source objects, I need to create formulas within the 3rd object, to retrieve the pertinent info.

And, the limitation of 5 references has me up against the wall!!!

What is the work-around?
Thanks
Marion
Hi -
I'm new to SF and Force, and not a developer, and not great with Databases...... and i sure do miss that I can't see a visualization of the relationships I'm making with my objects!

Is it just because I'm an amateur or do you folks wish we could see a diagram of what we're working on too?

Hi - I'm not quite sure what is involved, so I don't know where to put this. I know it's possible, but I don't know what I need to learn about to achieve it, or if I need to find someone to do it for me.

I have four customized objects:

object1 = Company

Object2 = people (children of the Company table via lookup)

Object3 = distributions (children of the Company table via lookup)

Object4 = junction of Object3 + Object4

Let's say we have 2 company records: CompanyMen and CompanyWomen

Let's say Tom, **bleep** and Harry are in CompanyMen

Let's say Susan, Jane, Margaret and Barbara are in CompanyWomen

Object3 looks like:

Distribution#1,CompanyMen

Distribution#2,CompanyMen

Distribution#3,CompanyWomen

Distribution#4,CompanyMen

Each time I add a record to Object3, I want the appropriate number of new records to automatically appear in Object 4.  For example, based on the records shown for Object 4, I should have the following in Object4:

Dist1,Tom

Dist1,**bleep**

Dist1,Harry

Dist2,Tom

Dist2,**bleep**

Dist2,Harry

Dist3,Susan

Dist3,Jane

Dist3,Margaret

Dist3,Barbara

Dist4,Tom

Dist4,**bleep**
Dist4,Harry

What do I need to learn to achieve this?