• Member since 2013

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hi there,

I am new to apex and was wondering if someone would be able to help me out by providing some example code on how I would write an apex trigger which sets the value of a lookup field based on identical values in a picklist.

Any help would be much appreciated,

Mikie

(Apex Rookie)

I'm pretty new to VF, so I'm erring on the side of verbosity.  I'm also a soccer fan.  I hope that helps?

I'm trying to build a nice way for a user to 'browse' their important records.  Basically, I'm hoping to have a filtered picklist at the top of the page, and then a table of fields/values for whatever picklist value was selected.  Imagine my users are Coaches of different soccer teams, and they want to browse their player's stats.  I could build this with a lookup field driving everything, but that seems weird for my use case.

So imagine my database is full of all soccer_players_c from teams all over the world.   This VF page would be for a coach, and they really don't care about other team's players, so I'd reduce the driving picklist to just their team's players. 

Custom object Soccer_Player__c
Field values Goals__c, Age__c, Salary__c, maybe a nice photo?

So I'd want to do some SOQL in a controller building my picklist:  [select Name from Soccer_Player__c where Team__c =$user.team]
Then display that picklist at the top of the page.  Then, whenever you click on a new player 'Name', the rest of the page updates (ajax I guess?) showing Goals, Age, Salary, maybe that nice photo... etc. 

If this is totally covered in a cookbook somewhere I'm happy to read up.  I don't think I had the right keywords when I was searching.  Otherwise if you have an example controller / page that covers this I'd love to see it!
  • February 03, 2014