• 0 Points
  • Member since 2007

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

I'm still new to visualforce and apex but I'm trying to figure out how to calculate the sum of fields in an visualforce email template.

I am making a receipt that can be emailed and I want to sum the total of payments made. I'm using an app called pervasive integrated credit card processor. The payments object's parent is Accounts. The visual force template is under Opportunities. 

It would be nice if I could do a simple roll-up summary field on the opportunity to sum the payments and then pull the amount but since payments is a child of accounts it does not allow me to do this. 

So, saying all that I just need to sum the payments where the opportunity ID is the ID of the current opportunity being used. 

How would I code this? Is there an easier way?

I'm creating a visualforce email template but I am having a hard time accessing fields from a parent object. Currently I have the visualforce template related to the Opportunity object. I would like to access the Account name on the opportunity. How would I do this? Any example?

I'm still new to visualforce and apex but I'm trying to figure out how to calculate the sum of fields in an visualforce email template.

I am making a receipt that can be emailed and I want to sum the total of payments made. I'm using an app called pervasive integrated credit card processor. The payments object's parent is Accounts. The visual force template is under Opportunities. 

It would be nice if I could do a simple roll-up summary field on the opportunity to sum the payments and then pull the amount but since payments is a child of accounts it does not allow me to do this. 

So, saying all that I just need to sum the payments where the opportunity ID is the ID of the current opportunity being used. 

How would I code this? Is there an easier way?