• Member since 2008

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hello,

I'm new at developing in salesforce.com , so I'm having a little trubble to finding out some things.

First of all, I would like to write a trigger for the Opportunity. I want to create automatically a new task, when ever a user creates a new Opportunity.

trigger createTask on Opportunity (before insert, before update){

List<Task> task = new List<Task>();

for (Integer i = 0; i < Trigger.new.size(); i++) {

task.add(new Task(
                         whatid=Trigger.new[i].Id,
                         OwnerId=Trigger.new[i].OwnerId,
                         Subject='First Contact '
                   ) ) ;

}

insert task;

}

My idea for this trigger, is to create a task for each new Opportunity created. Is it right?

thanks!

Message Edited by majo on 10-16-2009 08:52 AM
Message Edited by majo on 10-16-2009 08:53 AM
  • October 15, 2009

Hi All,

I am trying to figure out how to create a time field. I've looked through the existing posts, and had a quick look through the AppExchange and google's open source projects, but haven't found anything yet. Does anybody know how to create a time field?

• November 06, 2009

Hi All,

In the code below I am using the system.assertS to show me which parts of my code are being run. Somehow, the first one is displayed proving that the criteria specified in the if statement is being met, but strangely enough when I comment out the first assert and run the code again the second assert is not being displayed, which indicates that it is not going through the for loop that is controlled by the if statement. I am pretty new to writing code, therefore my debug skills aren't that strong, but this makes absolutely no sense to me. How could it enter the if statement, but not the for loop?