• Member since 2011

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hi All,

Hope someone can help as I'm still new to developing and trying to learn.

I have created a trigger to create a task when a contact record is saved and certain fields are filled in. However, this works fine but if someone goes into the record later and updates some other fields and saves because the fields are already filled in it creates another task. 

How can I get the code below to recognise that if a task called '30 Day Call' is already created against the contact to stop and not create another duplicate task?

trigger AssignNewMemberTask on Contact (after update) {
    List<Task> taskList = new List<Task>();
    for(integer i=0; i<trigger.new.size(); i++)
    {

if ((trigger.new[i].Joined__c==true)&&(trigger.new[i].Joined_Date__c!=NULL)) {
         Task t = new Task(
         Subject = '30 Day Call',
         WhoId = trigger.new[i].id,
         Description = 'Call this Contact.',
         Priority = 'High',
         Status = 'Not Started',
         ActivityDate = trigger.new[i].Joined_Date__c+30,
         ReminderDateTime = System.now().addDays(2));

if(trigger.new[i].Vistage_MSC__c!=null){
             t.OwnerId = trigger.new[i].Vistage_MSC__c;
             }else{
             t.OwnerId = '005E0000000YhNn';
             }
         taskList.add(t);
        }

}
    insert taskList;
}

Many thanks

Kev

I have a trigger that fires on Task after insert, update and delete.  The trigger calls a static method that passes in the trigger.new collection.

The trigger code runs fine if I'm editing just one Task record at a time, but if I use dataloader to update in bulk, then it doesn't process correctly.

Here is my method:

private static void doHoursCompletedHoursRemaining(List<Task> inNew)
    {
    	Set<Id> pmtlIds = new Set<Id>();
        for (Task t : inNew) {
        	String stringWhatId = '' + t.WhatId;
        	if (t.WhatId != null) {