• 0 Points
  • Member since 2011

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies
 How can Use a Public group name as a lookup field in a custom object? please help
George

I wanted to create  a Group called Applicaiton Group and wanted to add  users to this group like one group has on or more users.  
And then I wanted to use the Application group name as  a lookup field in one of my custom object.
I undertand I cannot use Users standard object in any master detail relationship. 

My custom object is a kind of  Case Ticket, and I want to use the field "Assinged Group" to a group name, and in the next lookup "Assinged person" to a user in that group.

Then I found Public group and I thought I can use this . I can add users to public group, but I cannot use public group as a lookup in my custom object.
Is force.com so limited like this? I am very disappointed

Is there any way to achieve what I am looking for.? I am very new to force.com and apex.  Can somone please guide me?

Thanks

George

I have a custom object called application Group.  This application group has one more users.  I would like to create a master detail relationship between
application group and  standard object users with Appication group as master and users as child so that I can add more users to each Application group .

As users object is not in the custom object list, I cannot create a master detail relationship there.
Can someone guide me how can I achieve this?
Thanks in advance
George
 I am very new to Force.com. I am looking to download and install Force.com IDE on PC running windows 7 pro. I did not find the actual download anywhere. But I found some exaples of installing the IDE as an Eclipse plug in. Is the stand alone not availbe any more?  Can someone tell me the best way  to install the IDE