• Member since 2013

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

Hi,

I am new to apex and creating a trigger to delete newly inserted contacts with duplicate emails. Actually since emails have to be unique in our salesforce instance, we are trying to do a cleanup right after new contacts are inserted.

Here's my trigger and I cannot get it saved due to this error: 
Error: Compile Error: unexpected token: global at line 28 column 0

Could any please help?? Thank you!!

****trigger****

trigger manageEmailAfterInsert on Contact (after insert, after update) {

/* This trigger is created by Heller to delete the duplicate contacts being inserted */
Set<String> setEmail = new Set<String>();
Map<String, Id> contactMap1 = new Map<String, Id>();
List<String> ToBeDeleted = new List<String>();
for (Contact Contact : trigger.new)
{
setEmail.add(Contact.Email);
contactMap1.put(Contact.Email,Contact.Id);
}

for(Contact dupContact : [select email from Contact where email in: setEmail])
{
if(contactMap1.containsKey(dupContact.Email))
{
ToBeDeleted.add(contactMap1.get(dupContact.Email));
}
}

If(ToBeDeleted.size() > 0)
//delete ToBeDeleted;
DeleteDupContact.deleteRecords();
}

global class DeleteDupContact {
@future
public deleteRecords(String[] ToBeDeleted) {

try {
DeleteResult[] deleteResults = connection.delete(ToBeDeleted);
for (int i = 0; i < deleteResults.length; i++) {
DeleteResult deleteResult = deleteResults[i];
if (deleteResult.isSuccess()) {
System.out
.println('Deleted Record ID: ' + deleteResult.getId());
} else {
// Handle the errors.
// We just print the first error out for sample purposes.
Error[] errors = deleteResult.getErrors();
if (errors.length > 0) {
System.out.println('Error: could not delete ' + 'Record ID '
+ deleteResult.getId() + '.');
System.out.println(' The error reported was: ('
+ errors[0].getStatusCode() + ') '
+ errors[0].getMessage() + '\n');
}
}
}
} catch (ConnectionException ce) {
ce.printStackTrace();
}
}