• Absyz Software Consulting Private Limited

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies
Hi All,

I'm new to Apex programming and I ran into some problems and I hoped one of you could advise.

I'm trying to follow this article on how to call a visual cloud flow from Apex:
https://andyinthecloud.com/2014/10/26/calling-flow-from-apex/

I followed the instructions on the Hello World Example, I created a simple flow, opened the developer console and pasted the following:

// Call the Flow
Map<String, Object> params = new Map<String, Object>();
Flow.Interview.ReturnHelloWorld helloWorldFlow = new Flow.Interview.ReturnHelloWorld(params);
helloWorldFlow.start();

It worked great.

Then I wanted to create a new Apex class to store it.
I created a new Class and pasted the following:
public class Test {

// Call the Flow
Flow.Interview.ReturnHelloWorld helloWorldFlow = new Flow.Interview.ReturnHelloWorld(params);
helloWorldFlow.start();
}

But got this error message: 
Error: Compile Error: Method must define a body at line 6 column 1

So here's my first question, why did it work on the Developer console without defining the method first?

Anyways, I added the method and here's the complete code:
public class Test {
// Call the Flow
helloWorldFlow.start();

public void start() {
      helloWorldFlow = new Flow.Interview.ReturnHelloWorld(params);
      helloWorldFlow .start();
   }

}

But the error persists!
What am I doing wrong? Clearly I'm missing something very obvious.

Thank you.

I have a question . Let's say that i have a controller and a visualforce page in a Managed package . Can I make the controller so that it accesses the Custom object in the Org ( in which the package has been installed ) without exposing the controller at all ?
Hi Everyone ,